Contests and Awards

Contests and Examinations

OVER THE YEARS, MCATA HAS contributed to a variety of mathematics contests and examinations. Contributions of funds for individual contests and examinations were often introduced and supported at executive meetings by the University Mathematics representative. In 1979, the executive allocated \$600 for such examinations and contests. In 1995, up to \$1,000 is budgeted for contests and awards. These two contests were part of MCATA's first decade or so but are no longer supported:

- Ontario Junior High Mathematics Contest in Alberta
 This support began in 1968, with a prize of \$25 and a certificate from MCATA going to the top Alberta student, certificates to the second and third place students, and a plaque for the school. In 1971, the prize was increased to \$30.
- Canadian Mathematics Congress Examination in Alberta
 This started in 1970, with \$200 being donated toward prizes.

The following contests continue to receive MCATA support in 1995:

- Alberta High School Mathematics Prize Examination
 In 1972, \$200 was granted to this competition. This was increased to \$400 in 1975, reduced to \$300 in 1978 and increased to \$500 in 1987.
- Calgary Mathematics Association Junior High Examination
 The initial grant to this group was \$30 in 1976; this was increased to \$50 in 1978.

 Edmonton Junior High Mathematics Contest
 This was modeled after the Calgary examination; the grant in 1978 was \$50, which was increased to \$100 in 1983.

Mathematics Educator of the Year Award

In 1983, the executive felt that it was time to begin recognizing MCATA members who had made a significant contribution to mathematics education in Alberta. As a result, it established the Mathematics Educator of the Year Award. The first recipient was Marshall Bye, who had put his mark on mathematics education in Alberta through his role as teacher, principal, mathematics consultant, author, conference speaker and MCATA executive member.

1984 Marshall Bye

1985 Joan Worth

1986 John Percevault

1987 Bill Bober

1988 Art Jorgensen

1989 Lois Marchand

1990 Joan Crawford

1991 Cynthia Ballheim

1992 Louise Frame

1993 Mary Anne Nissen

1994 Bob Michie

AD 1642

Blaise Pascal invents pascaline, the first calculating machine, capable of addition and subtraction.

Pascal also pioneers the modern theory of probability.